When Life Gives You A Kit-Kat…

…you take a break, right? Of course!

Well, I got my kit-kat about a month ago (yeah, took me almost a month to eat it) and now it’s time to get back on the road of life. I will always be a believer that ‘things happen for a reason’ and my kit-kat break was time for me to evaluate myself and plan where I am headed to next.

Related imageI’ve always known that my purpose in life was to help people – back when I was a a fresh college student I thought that going into law was the way I would fulfill my need to help people. Be a ‘voice for the people’ I thought. Then after looking at myself and what I would have to do to become a lawyer (compromising my virtues plus too many grey areas for), I decided that I didn’t want to subject myself to that; I like knowing that I can sleep at night. Then I thought that being a physical therapist would scratch that itch. I actually enjoyed my classes and my internship at a rehabilitation center, but what stopped me was the loooooonnnngggg wait to get into physical therapy school – it was a 3-4 year wait. Wow. I could be doing something else with my time than wait 3-4 years to get into a masters program. So, I wouldn’t say that I lost interest, I am still interested and still kinda know my human anatomy and why our bodies work the way they do; but the wait was just too long. And I like to think if I couldn’t wait for it, then it wasn’t meant to be anyway. So, I instead decided to work and save money – and the finality of this ‘work and save money’ mentality has lead me to going for my Masters degree in Counseling.

Counseling? Why counseling? Ever since I was a kid I have always been in tune to other people’s feelings and emotions, which, I suppose is a gift and a curse. Gift because I know when people are unhappy or if something is bothering them and I try to help them as best I could. Curse because, even though I feel like I have an infinite ‘pit’ that I can store all their emotions and problems, sometimes it spills out to other people around me, which obviously isn’t good. But through the years I guess you could say I have worked to better refine that aspect so I can let it all out in a positive way. Also I’m an awesome person and I want other people to be awesome also haha. But seriously, nothing is more rewarding than helping someone get over something negative in their lives. I know a lot of people out there wish they had someone to just listen to them.

Obviously there’s more to it than that (aint nobody got time for that), but with the type of person I am and the type of friend I am, this is what I’m called to do.

With that said, time to prep for the GRE’s and start applying to school – I’m low key getting tired of the Cali life and the people in it; I kind of want to do out of state, maybe Hawaii…? haha! Ah, we’ll see. Until then!

Image result for stay tuned meme

Leave a Reply

